Healthy Competition a Goldmine for AFL

Being a passionate Fremantle Dockers fan yet living on the other side of Australia meant I recently succumbed to purchasing the AFL’s mobile telecasting program ‘AFL Live’ for what seems like a small fee each week. But it wasn’t just for the desire to see my team of choice in action, it was to ensure I don’t miss out on any of the action in what has been a very entertaining couple of weeks in the AFL. With 7 of the last 19 games finishing with margins of less than 10 points and teams which were previously sorely underperforming now on the rise, how could you not want to watch it? It’s exciting.

Whilst yes, I do now make sure I catch at least a quarter of the Fremantle game each week, I have found myself actually watching more of other matches and getting far less work done while I do. I can tell you that no matter how convinced I am that I will do my homework with a small screen of the footy on my lap, it is yet to happen.

I am sure that there are many people who have recently done the same, especially considering the information recently released in a graph by The Economist (shown below) which indicates AFL is the most popular sport in the world based on the percentage of the population which engages in spectatorship at any stage during the season. Provided my assumptions are correct and this is resulting in In-App purchases for the AFL, it is meaning the closing gap between team’s performances throughout the competition is becoming an absolute goldmine for their marketing department. The matches are speaking for themselves; just begging for people to put down what they’re doing and focus entirely on watching the game to ensure they know what to talk about at work or school the next day.

I am not wild about spending some $6/week for the privilege, mostly because I am still a poor university student just trying to make it through my degree and still be able to eat and maintain a social life, however I will stick with it. At least just for the moment – until it no longer becomes worth it, or until my Mum takes a look at my bank statement and talks some sense into me.

AFL Economist Graph

Leave a comment